The goal of the project SePiA.Pro is the development and testing of a standardized, open, cloud-based service platform for the intelligent optimization of a production line in a manufacturing plant. The platform allows small and medium-sized enterprises to offer and use Internet-based services, so-called Smart Services.

Since Smart Services are meant to be portable, the SePiA.Pro project develops an approach to integrate software components together with their runtime environment into a self-describing Smart Service Archive.

The Industrial Analytics Platform developed as part of the SePiA.Pro project is a scalable, cloud-based, distributed runtime environment optimized for processing machine data. It provides the basic functionality (programming languages APIs and libraries) for the creation of Smart Prediction Services and implements the relevant interfaces for the processing and storage of the data, such as the interface to the data exchange service.

The “Industrial Analytics Platform” is based on Apache Flink technology. Apache Flink is a framework and distributed processing engine for stateful computations over unbounded and bounded data streams. Flink has been developed to run in all common cluster environments and perform computations with in-memory speed and at any scale.

In the project, the deployment of the Industrial Analytics Platform has already been successfully demonstrated at TRUMPF’s Smart Factory in Chicago. For this demonstrator a Smart Service for machinery condition monitoring has been developed. Both the Industrial Analytics Platform and the Smart Service can be automatically provisioned using OpenTOSCA and the CSAR packaging format.

Ziel des Projekts SePiA.Pro ist die Entwicklung und Erprobung einer standardisierten, offenen, cloud-basierten Service Plattform für die intelligente Anlagenoptimierung in der Produktion. Besagte Plattform erlaubt es kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, internetbasierte Dienstleistungen, sog. Smart Services, anzubieten und zu nutzen.

Da Smart Services portabel sein sollen, hat SePiA.Pro den Ansatz entwickelt, womit Softwarekomponenten eines Smart Services zusammen mit der kompletten benötigten Laufzeitumgebung selbstbeschreibend in ein Smart Service Archiv paketiert werden.

Die „Industrial Analytics Platform“, die im Rahmen des Projektes SePiA.Pro entwickelt wird, ist eine für die Verarbeitung von Maschinendaten optimierte, skalierbare, cloud-basierte, verteilte Plattform. Sie stellt die Basisfunktionalität (Programmiersprachen APIs und Bibliotheken) für die Erstellung von Smart Prediction Service bereit und realisiert die für die Verarbeitung und Speicherung der Daten relevanten Schnittstellen (u.a. Schnittstelle zum Datenvermittlungsservice).

Die „Industrial Analytics Platform“ basiert auf Apache Flink Technologie.  Apache Flink ist ein Framework und eine verteilte Verarbeitungs-Engine für stateful Berechnungen über unbegrenzte (Stream-Verarbeitung) und begrenzte Datenströme (Batch-Verarbeitung). Flink wurde entwickelt, um in allen gängigen Cluster-Umgebungen zu laufen, Berechnungen mit In-Memory-Geschwindigkeit und in jeder Größenordnung durchführen zu können.

Im Projekt konnte der Einsatz der Industrial Analytics Platform bereits erfolgreich in der TRUMPF Smart Factory in Chicago demonstriert werden. Hierzu wurde ein Smart Service zur Überwachung von Maschinenzuständen entwickelt. Sowohl die Industrial Analytics Platform als auch der Smart Service können mit Hilfe von OpenTOSCA und dem Paketierungsformat CSAR automatisch provisioniert werden.